Saturday, August 17, 2019

August 17, 2019


MY CORNER by Boyd Cathey

NEW Essay at The UNZ Review: The Shooting and the Open War against the Deplorables


Friends,
The Unz Review has published another essay that I’ve authored, this one based on comments I made back in the MY CORNER installment of August 11. I did rewrite and edit portions of the original, so in some ways it is a new piece.  Additionally, it appears that the LewRockwell.com site will be running the same item in the near future, although I have only seen the preview thus far. This will give the essay many additional readers.
So, I pass this essay on to you this morning:

THE UNZ REVIEW
The Shootings, the Stats, and the Violent War Against the Deplorables
BOYD D. CATHEY • AUGUST 13, 2019

To listen to almost all the reporters on Fox News—and most of the Establishment Media experts—after the mass shootings in El Paso and Dayton, you would have thought that President Donald Trump needed to do exactly what the Reverend Jimmy Swaggart did back a few years ago: get on TV and cry and bawl, and emotionally apologize: “I have sinned! I have sinned!” And then add, “I know in my heart that I am a ‘white nationalist’ and have unleashed all this horrible violence and murder! And I am deeply, exceedingly, profoundly, eternally, and unalterably sorry.” And as a final coup de grace: “From now on I will be a good Establishment Conservative, I will listen to great thinkers like…hmm…National Review’s David French, and Ben Shapiro and Jonah Goldberg. And I shall dwell in the House of Martin Luther King and the NAACP forever!”

Only Tucker Carlson uttered a demurer, of sorts. According to his nearly lone voice on national television (“Tucker Carlson Tonight,” August 6):

“If you were to assemble a list, a hierarchy of concerns of problems this country faces, where would white supremacy be on the list? Right up there with Russia probably. It’s actually not a real problem in America,” Carlson noted. He added that the combined membership of all the white supremacy groups throughout America could likely fit inside a college football stadium. “This is a country where the average person is getting poorer where the suicide rate is spiking,” Carlson said, drawing light on the real pressing problems that face Americans. With Russian collusion fantasies no longer gaining traction, this is another attempt by the political establishment to demonize President Donald Trump and cling to power. “This is a hoax, just like the Russia hoax. It is a conspiracy theory used to divide the country and keep a hold on power. That’s exactly what’s going on.”

Of course, being on Fox did not keep Carlson from being attacked by other Fox personalities, and, unsurprisingly, the most direct hit came from Shepard Smith, the notoriously open Leftist who handles Fox News in the afternoons. Without naming Carlson specifically, Smith zeroed in for the kill:

[I]n direct contrast to Carlson’s comments, Smith [endorsing Joe Biden’s criticism of the president as a racist] demanded that we “recognize that white nationalism is real, that white nationalism is on the rise, that white nationalism is without question a very serious problem in America and [we must] beat down those who would help facilitate it and encourage it.” [Italics mine]

The usual luminaries from Establishment Conservatism also eagerly jumped in to trash the president—and his supporters, those unruly and unwashed “deplorables”—as witness just a couple of selections from the dozens of our supposed “betters” who lead the “conservative opposition,” but in actuality normalize and deaden us to the Leftward progressivist madness that engulfs and destroys more of our historic culture and heritage each day.

There was the insufferable David French, senior writer and senior fellow at the National Review Institute. Here are some of the choice things he said about Trump and those who have in the past supported him. I quote him at length because he symbolizes what most major voices of the “Conservative Movement” are saying:

The United States is now facing a deadly challenge from a connected, radical, online-organizing community of vicious white-nationalist terrorists. They are every bit as evil as jihadists, and they radicalize in much the same way….[W]hite-supremacist terror… a new youth movement of hate…the ‘alt-right’…targeted Jews, it targeted African Americans and Hispanics, and it targeted critics of Donald Trump. It obsessed over immigrants from south of the border. It used words like “invasion” to describe immigration, and words such as “replacement” to describe the imagined fate of white America. It thrilled to Trump’s rhetoric, and parts of Trump’s movement loved it right back….
Think of the thrills, energy, and inspiration they’ve experienced from the highest office in the land…since Trump came down the escalator in 2015. His announcement speech cast immigrants collectively as dangerous and deficient, with only “some” exceptions. He has used the language of invasion frequently, even to the point of invoking a military response….
Alt-right support for Trump wasn’t random. It wasn’t arbitrary. It was directly related to his rhetoric, and it was cultivated by his allies, and it was cultivated in part because it was a new way to fight….[O]ur nation’s leaders need to focus on reconciliation and unity, and if they are not up to that most basic and fundamental aspect of their job, then they must be replaced. [Italics mine]

Then, there was little Ben Shapiro who fancies himself an up-and-coming major player in the moldering and pallid Movement. Shapiro did not employ the colorfully Leftist vocabulary that French utilized, but he still managed to get in his licks against the “Chief-white-nationalist-in-charge.”

Trump, wrote Shapiro, is a flaming “xenophobe” whose tweets “All too often…are bad, both morally and politically.”

The comments by French and Shapiro represent a range of “conservative” response, and in between you will find exhortations by such worthies as Steve Hayes, Martha MacCallum, Matthew Continetti (married to zealous NeverTrumper Bill Kristol’s daughter), Karl Rove, and a long list of others, most of whom are Neoconservatives.

At the very least, as a first step, they demanded that the president roundly condemn “white nationalism.” So President Trump did come out and condemn it, generically. He should not have done so. Such a cave in was never going to be enough to satisfy his critics on the Democratic Left or many in the weak-kneed, ideologically poisoned “conservative movement.”

As Tucker Carlson almost alone pointed out: the issue of white nationalism is a politically-motivated charge and a hoax. And the statistics—which you will never hear quoted by the media, including on Fox—confirm this.
Christopher DeGroot has researched this question, and he discovered the actual figures, and they contradict what you have heard. From the Mass Shooting Tracker, here is the information (reported by writer Daniel Greenfield) that should, but isn’t, being discussed:

The perception that mass shootings are a “white man’s problem” lingers around the country because white mass shooters tend to get more publicity. And, the twisted young male who goes on a public shooting spree fits a certain kind of media narrative. But when we actually study the mass shootings that took place in 2019, it’s clear that Patrick Crusius and Connor Betts are not the norm, but aberrations.
Mass shooters have no particular ideology. Crusius and Betts were opposites ideologically. (Though both cared deeply about the environment.) Nor are mass shooters a white problem or a black problem. Over the same bloody weekend, William Patrick Williams, who is African-American, appeared in court after being arrested by the FBI for planning to shoot up a Texas hotel with an AK-47 rifle.
Looking at the data from the Mass Shooting Tracker, widely utilized by the media, as of this writing, of the 72 mass shooters, perpetrators in shootings that killed or wounded 4 or more people, whose race is known, 21 were white, 37 were black, 8 were Latino, and 6 were members of other groups.
51% of mass shooters in 2019 were black, 29% were white, and 11% were Latino.

DeGroot continues, citing Colin Flaherty in The American Thinker:

In the two-week run-up to Gilroy there were 36 other mass shootings from coast to coast—and 34 of those shooters were black. One was white and one Hispanic. These results echo a ‘New York Times’ story from 2016 that stated, much to the surprise and chagrin of the reporters, that whenever there are three or more victims of gunfire, 75 percent of shooters in America are black.

Notice the extreme discrepancies between the real statistics and what you hear broadcast uniformly by the media—a media which engages in a not-so-subtle effort to foist on a gullible public a fake, highly ideological narrative that: (1) all or almost all “domestic terrorism” is by white males, (2) white nationalism (and white supremacy) is the root cause of it, and (3) Donald Trump gives go-ahead “dog whistles” to white nationalists. It is a narrative that the Establishment “movement conservatives” fully participate in, even if they protest that they don’t go quite as far as, for example, the loony Beto O’Rourke.

Whence comes the greatest danger of domestic terrorism, from whom comes the greatest danger to our already profoundly threatened liberties and our heritage as a people? What—who—is the, by far, major threat not only to what remains of the shredded American Constitution, but also to us, individually and in family?

Just as the perfervid conversations about the shootings in Dayton and El Paso were reaching a fever pitch, news came from NBC Universal Studios that it would be releasing a major motion picture nationwide in September. Titled “The Hunt,” the film graphically depicts a “killing game” in which rich, limousine Leftist millionaires take weekends off at a posh resort and engage in the sport of hunting down, brutally torturing, and murdering “deplorables”—that is, folks like you and me who oppose the aberrant progressivist assault on and perversion of our culture.

Here is how Brandon Showalter at The Christian Post describes the movie:

“The violent, R-rated film from producer Jason Blum’s Blumhouse [production company] follows a dozen MAGA types who wake up in a clearing and realize they are being stalked for sport by elite liberals,” The Hollywood Reporter noted. Characters in the movie that are considered prey for the hunters are referred to as “deplorables,” a term former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton used to describe supporters of presidential candidate Donald Trump during the 2016 election.
“Did anyone see what our ratf—-er-in-chief just did?” one character in the movie asks, making an apparent reference to President Trump. “At least the hunt’s coming up. Nothing better than going out to the manor and slaughtering a dozen deplorables,” another character replies.

When the news of the film—and its trailer—surfaced, there was outrage. NBC Universal tried to explain it away; the trailer was withdrawn, and finally the September release date was postponed indefinitely, but significantly, the film was not permanently deep-sixed. And Universal, caught with its zealously ideological pants down, sheepishly tried to explain that, well, you see, it is just a satire, not really THAT serious (just like Kathy Griffin holding a model of a bloody, severed head of Donald Trump, remember that “satire”?). Even the conservative National Review bought into the weak satire explanation, and, once again, blamed the president for this film, “[which is actually] sympathetic to Trump voters,” being put aside.

Alas, those 600 movie screens across the nation and those thousands of unaccompanied teens and Millennials will just have to wait to see all the gore and mayhem maybe later on…and learn how to treat that neighbor up the street who is a “deplorable”?
But the very thought…the idea conveyed by the film, satire or not…was already there in vivid and disgusting color, ready to go, and if no one had noticed, if there had not been a popular reaction, it would have been released.

And why not? After all, a major reporter, Frank Figliuzzi, NBC’s national security expert contributor, had figured it all out and explained it to NBC anchor Brian Williams (who, of course, took it all in):

I have a piece out just tonight in the New York Times on what, sadly, I think is going to happen next if we don’t disrupt the chain of radicalization…. We have to understand the adversary and the threat we’re dealing with. And if we don’t understand how they think, we’ll never understand how to encounter them. So it’s little things and language and messaging that matters. The president said that we will fly our flags at half-mast until August 8th. That`s 8/8. Now, I’m not going to imply that he did this deliberately but I am using it as an example of the ignorance of the adversary that`s being demonstrated by the White House.
The numbers 88 are very significant in neo-Nazi and white supremacist movement. Why? Because the letter H is the eighth letter of the alphabet and to them, the numbers 88 together stand for “Heil Hitler.” So we’re going to be raising the flag back up at dusk on 8/8. No one is thinking about this. No one is giving him advice or he’s rejecting the advice. So, understand your adversary to counter the adversary.

The logic here, of course, is thus inescapable and follows directly on from the message of “The Hunt,” all the talk of putting illegals in Nazi-style concentration camps, and similar Nazi and white nationalist memes over the past two and half years:

1.       President Trump and the “deplorables” are Nazis or at least implicitly Nazi supporters (as well as “white nationalists”—there is no difference);
2.      Nazis, of course, are the ultimate evil and can only be dealt with by extinguishing and eliminating them;
3.      Therefore, Trump—but even more so, the “deplorables”—must be “dealt with,” and ALL methods are licit, from shaming, doxxing, in-your-face and violent demonstrations, banning on the Internet (happening as we speak), legal action and lawsuits, and, yes, even to physical violence. “Nazis” cannot be allowed in the new globalist America.

Isn’t this exactly what Willem van Spronsen was attempting to do on July 13, 2019, when he attacked the ICE offices in Tacoma, Washington, with incendiaries (and was celebrated as a martyr by the Left)? Or, the attempted murder of Representative Steve Scalise in June 2017, and the dozens of violent leftist assaults since January 2017?
The sooner those of us who qualify as “deplorables” understand that, the sooner we comprehend that there is no compromise possible whatsoever with those progressivists and Leftists—the sooner we understand that the self-appointed leaders of the Establishment “Conservative Movement” are not our defenders but 5th Column collaborationists, then, the sooner we come to the sobering realization that we hold our destiny and the future in our hands.


“Ecrasez L’infame!” –“Crush the loathsome beast!” said Voltaire about Church-State authority in pre-Revolutionary France. And, while I am, as a staunch traditionalist, definitely 100% on the other side of that historical issue, the phrase fits here: either we somehow crush the other side, or they will most assuredly crush us. It’s no longer a “cold civil war”—“total war” has begun.

Wednesday, August 14, 2019

August 14, 2019

MY CORNER by Boyd Cathey

TWO ESSAYS at Reckonin.com—Responsibility for the Shootings and Racism Everywhere

Friends,

Over the past few months since its inception the Web site Reckonin.com has become one of the major venues for reviews, articles, and essays on Confederate and Southern history and culture, and for a defense of those valuable components of our heritage. And, indeed, it fearlessly places those critical elements within the context of how the original and fragile American confederation was erected and came to be, what was intended—and thus what we have lost since defeat on the battlefield in 1865 and what our task must be if we are to preserve what we still possess and, even more difficult, recover what was lost.

That, of course, is no easy task! In almost every way, the deck is stacked against us.

Yet, one person at a time, one family at a time, one small Website and article here and there, one more homeschooling family or private school opened, one more political leader who “gets it”—all these things go to enable us not only to survive in this new Dark Age, but in our catacombs to begin the arduous task of eventual recovery and Counter-revolution.

Our enemies took many decades, more than a century, to achieve the kind of victory they now appear to enjoy. And, barring some sort of immense national catastrophe (which may well occur!) or the Good Lord simply having had enough of our country’s apostasy, we, too, must engage in a painful “long march” to recapture our institutions, our history, and our heritage.

That won’t be easy; but if we possess the Theological Virtue of Hope, combined with Faith, then there is never real defeat, even if we should perish physically in the conflict.  For in the end Truth, and it is God’s Truth, will triumph, in one form or another. 

For us it is to keep high the banners of our faith and our inheritance, to defend them resolutely and intelligently, and then to pass them on to our children.

Over the past couple of weeks I have been honored to have two essays published by Reckonin.com; both are edited and revised versions of previous installments of MY CORNER which were picked up and have been published.

I offer them to you today:

RECKONIN'

Elizabeth Warren and Food Racism

By Dr. Boyd D. Cathey  7/31/2019
After watching a portion--but only a portion--of the Democratic "debate" last night (after twenty minutes, I had to go retch!), I discovered when listening to Elizabeth Warren that I was suffering from—Intestinal (Food) Racism!  At last I KNOW what it is that is causing me such systemic problems in my stomach and lower tract!  You see, now I know that historically the lighter colored food that I eat and attempt to digest has dominated and oppressed the darker hued food. Thus, those pieces of white bread and mashed potatoes have systemically oppressed those poor chocolate eclairs and that yummy chocolate pudding!  The intestinal problems I have had and continue to have are clearly due to that white food supremacy! And, thus, all my intestinal discomfort and digestive issues can be resolved simply by an immense government program of restorative reparations!

Thus, I must now go on a strict regimen of drinking only black coffee and eating black beans, imposing alimentary affirmative action on my eating process. And, more, since this intestinal racism is apparently endemic and a product of historic European colonialism, I must begin to restrict and even penalize the lighter and white-colored foods I consume, in the name of equality and alimentary social justice.

And, of course, the major culprit in all of this racism is, you guessed it: milk, which of course is lily white. And the question must then be asked: is not lily white milk an inheritance of Neo-Confederate white supremacy and systemic racism and bigotry? Didn’t Morris Dees at the Southern Poverty Law Center write something about this years ago?

Oh Oh! what then must be the remedy? Well, for one, white milk must be subject to a new and heavily enforced civil rights bill which would require, as part of a new program of affirmative action, that 50 % of all white milk must now be colored by dark syrup. And to secure this goal chocolate syrup is not enough to solve the issue; no, it must be very black licorice syrup, carefully legislated by law.

And, of course, as all of this...these prescriptions...will require proper and ironclad implementation, a whole new agency of the Federal government must be created: the US Department of Alimentary Equality and Justice. And, certainly, there must be a new $500 million Federal building erected in Washington, plus new offices in all fifty states. And, to accomplish this necessary program--which is just as critical to our national well-being as our battle against climate change--my estimate is that it will take over 100,000 new very "woke" and socially-conscious government workers who all have graduated from our premiere universities with degrees in food science or social work, taught by suitably progressive professors.

Budgetarily, I estimate, based on a recent study completed by the Al Sharpton Studies in Historic Obesity and Lingering Emaciation [ASSHOLE] Institute, that a mere $100 trillion would provide for the first ten years of this program.

Obviously, given the pusillanimous, cowardly position of the Republicans, I do not anticipate strong opposition from the GOP, but rather they will on Fox and in Congress do what they usually do, appropriate this idea and soon make it their own, and thus normalize it as American as Lemon meringue pie....Oops! I mean CHOCOLATE PIE.


This piece was previously published at 
My Corner on July 31, 2019.

RECKONIN’


The Real Culprits of the Mass Shootings

By Boyd D. Cathey   8/10/2019

Back in my junior year in high school in Garner, North Carolina, there was not one—not one—school shooting in the entire United States that year, and not one act of what is now called “domestic terrorism.” In fact, in our schools other than some minor and normally harmless fist-fights (mostly to settle private disputes between rambunctious teenage boys, often over a girl), the extreme violence as we see and experience in our day was basically non-existent.

In fact, all through my grammar school and then high school years the schools were open, like most all educational institutions in the Tar Heel State. Just like all our stores and places of commerce, almost anyone could just walk in freely, although normally for schools they went to the administration office if something was desired. I can remember when my mother came to pick me up when Hurricane Hazel was on the way, or when news came that one of my grandfathers had passed away near Charlotte, and we needed to prepare to make the sad trip there for the funeral: she didn’t have to go through a metal detector and be searched for a concealed weapon. That was unthinkable. People weren’t like that then, certainly not in our state.

There was no need to have all the doors locked, or to hire security and police staff…or for that matter, to have employed babbling psychologists, sociologists, and “grief counselors” ready to assist students who suffered “mental problems.” Indeed, it was considered the height of intellectual folly and ridiculousness to even think about having “staff psychologists” or “grief counselors” lurking about to handle personal issues—mental illness—when the real solution to any potential problem was strong two-parent families  (which then accounted for around 90% of domestic situations) at home, and solid discipline at school, plus the fact that the vast majority of families (and their children) were churchgoing and, at least publicly, professed some sort of faith in God, and thus in His Commandments.

The administrators of our schools and proprietors of our places of business weren’t afraid of some deranged gunman coming in and shooting up the place. That just did not happen.

Since then and with the triumph of modern progressivism, we have been informed that those older modes of behavior and belief, that way of life and conducting ourselves, was bad, that it restrained our freedom, that it limited us, that it was certainly “sexist” and probably also “racist.” We have been instructed that the older credo about marriage and the family is passe’ and in our contemporary culture just no longer applies. Marriage as a sacred institution, and for many of us a sacrament, has been in so many words downgraded to “if it feels good, just do it,” or, “shack up for a while and see if it works, and if not, then just split.”  Too bad about any children born in this situation; they’ll just have to live with the less bad parent, usually the mother (but what happens if both are bad?).

No need here to cite statistics: you already know or have an idea what they reveal. Even in two-parent families, modern theories of child-raising dominate in far too many cases. Older, traditional ideas are relics of a bygone and, we are told, “not very enlightened age.”

And the schools? From the earliest primary grades to high school and then our colleges, “progressive” modern educational theories now undergird and inform instruction, certainly in public institutions of so-called “learning.” There has been a long-march, a continuous and largely effective campaign to implant an ideology, inculcate it in the unformed minds of our youth. How else to explain, in large part, the indoctrinated, zombie-like graduates of our schools and colleges, who simply mouth the ideological slogans and post-Marxist pablum instilled into them through twelve years of schooling and then another four of college? The University of the South-Sewanee, “Ole Miss,” UVa…what have they become in our day?

And our entertainment industry and sports?

I was struck one recent morning as I forced myself to watch a few brief minutes of “Fox & Friends” on the television, and beheld the woefully dumb blond Ainsley Earhardt rhapsodize about the 1990 film, “Home Alone,” one of the most inane and insipid movies of the past thirty years, as one of her favorite motion pictures.  Just an example, but an example that says quite a bit about not just the twice-divorced Earhardt, but about what has happened to American society and the standards of taste now regnant and dominant in our decaying culture…and which now wash over my beloved North Carolina.

When was the last time you viewed a film without a plethora of four-letter words—and lots of them—or bedroom scenes which bare almost everything, punctuated by grunts, groans, and grimaces? Take a look at HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, and regular weeknight television, almost any program.

I recall Groucho Marx on his early 1950s TV quiz program, “You Bet Your Life,” when he intimated in a very humorous way, sexual relations between a married couple. Everyone in the audience laughed (after gasping), but everyone also knew back then that such relationships were very special and should be within matrimony. There were limits to what should be said, not because of prudery, but because such intimate acts were very unique expressions of the sanctified marital bond. Of course, such relations also existed outside that bond—and that was also talked about and illustrated within our culture—but everyone, or almost everyone, knew that that was NOT normative, NOT the way things should be, NOT if families and their offspring were to succeed, and NOT if our society was to survive.

So, in recent days we have the specter of a dozen or so Democratic candidates blaming the shootings in El Paso and Dayton on Donald Trump—he is, according to that sorry excuse for a political leader, Beto O’Rourke, the reincarnation of Adolf Hitler! He’s a racist and the white-nationalist-in-chief who is directly responsible for ALL the violence we’ve seen, whether in a Walmart in El Paso or a high school in Parkland, Florida.

Yet the real culprits, those really responsible for the condition of our country and for the situation we find ourselves in are those like Beto O’Rourke, Cory Booker, Kamala Harris, and Julian Castro, and their intellectual associates and immediate forebears, who have inflicted—and continue to inflict—on us the insane policies and nostrums, the ideology that is at the very root of our situation in and the breakup of this country.

No, Beto: it is people like you and those who taught and instructed you who produced the crisis we see around us, the dislocation, the despair, the heartache, the fatherless boys, the broken families, the rage and misdirected angerand the violence. Look in the mirror and SEE the culprit, and then go take a thirty day Ignatian Retreat in silence and pray God that He will forgive your Evil.

Sunday, August 11, 2019

August 11, 2019


MY CORNER by Boyd Cathey

The Mass Shootings, the Real Figures, and the Violent War against the Deplorables

Friends,

To listen to almost all the reporters and reporterettes on Fox News—and most of the Establishment Media experts—after the mass shootings in El Paso and Dayton, you would think that President Donald Trump needed to do exactly what the Reverend Jimmy Swaggart did back a number of years ago: get on TV and cry and bawl, and emotionally apologize: “I have sinned! I have sinned!”  And then add, “I know in my heart that I am a ‘white nationalist’ and have unleashed all this horrible violence and murder! And I am deeply, exceedingly, profoundly, eternally, and unalterably sorry.”  And as a final coup de grace: “From now on I will be a good Establishment Conservative, I will listen to great thinkers like…hmm…National Review’s David French, and Ben Shapiro and Jonah Goldberg. And I shall worship in the House of Martin Luther King and the NAACP forever!”

Only Tucker Carlson uttered a demurer of sorts. According to his nearly lone voice on national television (“Tucker Carlson Tonight,” August 6):

“If you were to assemble a list, a hierarchy of concerns of problems this country faces, where would white supremacy be on the list? Right up there with Russia probably. It’s actually not a real problem in America,” Carlson noted. He added that the combined membership of all the white supremacy groups throughout America could likely fit inside a college football stadium.  “This is a country where the average person is getting poorer where the suicide rate is spiking,” Carlson said, drawing light on the real pressing problems that face Americans. With Russian collusion fantasies no longer gaining traction, this is another attempt by the political establishment to demonize President Donald Trump and cling to power. “This is a hoax, just like the Russia hoax. It is a conspiracy theory used to divide the country and keep a hold on power. That’s exactly what’s going on.”
Of course, being on Fox did not keep Carlson from being attacked, and, unsurprisingly, the most direct assault came from Shepard Smith, the notoriously open Leftist who handles Fox News in the afternoons. Without naming Carlson directly, Smith zeroed in for the kill:
[I]n direct contrast to Carlson’s comments, Smith [endorsing Joe Biden’s criticism of the president as a racist] demanded that we “recognize that white nationalism is real, that white nationalism is on the rise, that white nationalism is without question a very serious problem in America and [we must] beat down those who would help facilitate it and encourage it.”
The usual luminaries from Establishment Conservatism also eagerly jumped in to trash the president—and his supporters, those unruly and unwashed “deplorables”—as witness just some small selections from the dozens of our supposed “betters” who supposedly lead the “conservative opposition,” but in actuality normalize and deaden us to the Leftward progressivist madness that engulfs and destroys more of our historic culture and heritage each day.
There was the insufferable “conservative” David French, senior writer and senior fellow at the National Review Institute. Here are some of the choice things he said about Trump and those who have supported him. I quote him at length because he symbolizes what most major voices of the “Conservative Movement” are saying:
The United States is now facing a deadly challenge from a connected, radical, online-organizing community of vicious white-nationalist terrorists. They are every bit as evil as jihadists, and they radicalize in much the same way….[W]hite-supremacist terror… a new youth movement of hate…the ‘alt-right’…targeted Jews, it targeted African Americans and Hispanics, and it targeted critics of Donald Trump. It obsessed over immigrants from south of the border. It used words like “invasion” to describe immigration, and words such as “replacement” to describe the imagined fate of white America. It thrilled to Trump’s rhetoric, and parts of Trump’s movement loved it right back….
Think of the thrills, energy, and inspiration they’ve experienced from the highest office in the land…since Trump came down the escalator in 2015. His announcement speech cast immigrants collectively as dangerous and deficient, with only “some” exceptions. He has used the language of invasion frequently, even to the point of invoking a military response….
Alt-right support for Trump wasn’t random. It wasn’t arbitrary. It was directly related to his rhetoric, and it was cultivated by his allies, and it was cultivated in part because it was a new way to fight….[O]ur nation’s leaders need to focus on reconciliation and unity, and if they are not up to that most basic and fundamental aspect of their job, then they must be replaced. [bolding mine]

Then, there was “Li'l Ben” Shapiro who fancies himself an up-and-coming major player in the moldering and pallid establishment “conservative movement.” Shapiro did not employ the colorfully Leftist memes and vocabulary that French utilized, but he still managed to get in his licks against the “Chief-white-nationalist-in-charge,” Donald Trump.

Trump, you see, is a flaming “xenophobe” whose tweets “All too often…are bad, both morally and politically.”

The comments by French and Shapiro represent the range of “conservative” response, and in between you will find exhortations by such worthies as Steve Hayes, Martha MacCallum, Matthew Continetti (married to zealous NeverTrumper Bill Kristol’s daughter), Karl Rove, and a long list of others, most of whom early on opposed the president (prior to his election) and almost all of whom can be identified as Neoconservatives.

At the very least, as a first step, the president had to roundly condemn “white nationalism.” And President Trump did come out and condemn it, generically, but not enough to satisfy his critics on the Democratic Left or in the weak-kneed, ideologically poisoned “conservative movement.” He should not have done so.

As Tucker Carlson almost alone pointed out: the issue of white nationalism is bogus, a hoax. And the statistics—which you will never hear quoted by the media, including Fox—confirm this.

My friend Christopher DeGroot has researched this question, and he discovered the actual figures, and they contradict what you have heard and what has been drilled into you by the near entirety of the media. From the Mass Shooting Tracker, here is the information (reported by writer Daniel Greenfield) that should, but isn’t, being evaluated:

The perception that mass shootings are a “white man’s problem” lingers around the country because white mass shooters tend to get more publicity. And, the twisted young male who goes on a public shooting spree fits a certain kind of media narrative. But when we actually study the mass shootings that took place in 2019, it’s clear that Patrick Crusius and Connor Betts are not the norm, but aberrations.
Mass shooters have no particular ideology. Crusius and Betts were opposites ideologically. (Though both cared deeply about the environment.) Nor are mass shooters a white problem or a black problem. Over the same bloody weekend, William Patrick Williams, who is African-American, appeared in court after being arrested by the FBI for planning to shoot up a Texas hotel with an AK-47 rifle.
Looking at the data from the Mass Shooting Tracker, widely utilized by the media, as of this writing, of the 72 mass shooters, perpetrators in shootings that killed or wounded 4 or more people, whose race is known, 21 were white, 37 were black, 8 were Latino, and 6 were members of other groups.
51% of mass shooters in 2019 were black, 29% were white, and 11% were Latino.
Christopher continues, citing Colin Flaherty in The American Thinker:
In the two-week run-up to Gilroy there were 36 other mass shootings from coast to coast—and 34 of those shooters were black. One was white and one Hispanic. These results echo a ‘New York Times’ story from 2016 that stated, much to the surprise and chagrin of the reporters, that whenever there are three or more victims of gunfire, 75 percent of shooters in America are black.

Notice the extreme discrepancies…or, rather, the not-so-subtle effort to foist on a gullible public a fake but highly ideological narrative: that (1) all or almost all “domestic terrorism” is by white males, (2) white nationalism (and white supremacy) is the root cause of it, and (3) Donald Trump AND his supporters are its cheerleaders and fomenters. It is a narrative that the Establishment “movement conservatives” fully participate in, even if they protest that they don’t go quite as far as, for example, the loony Beto O’Rourke.
From whence comes the greatest danger of domestic terrorism, from whom comes the greatest danger to our already profoundly threatened liberties and our heritage as a people? What—who—is the, by far, major threat not only to what remains of the shredded American Constitution, but also to us, individually and in family?
Just as the perfervid conversations about the shootings in Dayton and El Paso were reaching a fever pitch, news came from NBC Universal Studios that it would be releasing a major motion picture nationwide in September. Titled “The Hunt, the film graphically depicts a “killing game” in which rich, limousine Leftist millionaires take weekends off at a posh resort and engage in the sport of hunting down, brutally torturing, and murdering “deplorables”—that is, folks like you and me who might have voted for Donald Trump in 2016 and who probably don’t like or even oppose the aberrant progressivist assault on and perversion of our culture.
Here is how Brandon Showalter at The Christian Post describes the movie:
"The violent, R-rated film from producer Jason Blum's Blumhouse [production company] follows a dozen MAGA types who wake up in a clearing and realize they are being stalked for sport by elite liberals,” The Hollywood Reporter noted. Characters in the movie that are considered prey for the hunters are referred to as "deplorables," a term former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton used to describe supporters of presidential candidate Donald Trump during the 2016 election.  
"Did anyone see what our ratf----er-in-chief just did?" one character in the movie asks, making an apparent reference to President Trump. "At least the hunt's coming up. Nothing better than going out to the manor and slaughtering a dozen deplorables," another character replies.

When the news of the film—and its trailer—surfaced, there was outrage. NBC Universal tried to explain it away; the trailer was withdrawn, and finally the September release date was “postponed,” but significantly, the film was not permanently shelved.  And Universal, caught with its zealously ideological pants down, sheepishly tried to explain that, well, you see, it is just a satire, not really THAT serious (just like Kathy Griffin holding a model of a bloody, severed head of Donald Trump, remember that?).

Alas, so those 600 screens across the nation and those thousands of unaccompanied teens and Millennials will just have to wait to see all the gore and mayhem later on…and how to treat that neighbor up the street who voted for Trump. At the least, maybe a little “Representative Steve Scalise treatment?”

But the very thought…the idea…the film…was already there in vivid and disgusting color, ready to go, and if no one had noticed that much, if there had not been a popular reaction, it WOULD have been released.

And why not? After all, a major reporter, Frank Figliuzzi, NBC’s national security expert and contributor, had figured it all out and explained it to even more important NBC anchor Brian Williams (who, of course, took it all in):
I have a piece out just tonight in the New York Times on what, sadly, I think is going to happen next if we don’t disrupt the chain of radicalization…. We have to understand the adversary and the threat we’re dealing with. And if we don’t understand how they think, we’ll never understand how to encounter them. So it’s little things and language and messaging that matters. The president said that we will fly our flags at half-mast until August 8th. That`s 8/8. Now, I’m not going to imply that he did this deliberately but I am using it as an example of the ignorance of the adversary that`s being demonstrated by the White House.
The numbers 88 are very significant in neo-Nazi and white supremacist movement. Why? Because the letter H is the eighth letter of the alphabet and to them, the numbers 88 together stand for “Heil Hitler.” So we’re going to be raising the flag back up at dusk on 8/8. No one is thinking about this. No one is giving him advice or he’s rejecting the advice. So, understand your adversary to counter the adversary.
The logic here, of course, is thus inescapable and follows directly on from the message of “The Hunt” and other similar manifestations:
A)  President Trump and his “deplorables” are Nazis or at least Nazi supporters (as well as “white nationalists”—there is no difference);
B)   Nazis, of course, are the ultimate evil and can only be dealt with by extinguishing and eliminating them;
C)   Therefore, Trump—but even more so, the “deplorables”—must be “dealt with,” and ALL methods are licit, from shaming, doxxing, in-your-face and violent demonstrations, banning on the Internet (happening as we speak), legal action and lawsuits, and, yes, to even violence. “Nazis” cannot be allowed in the new globalist America.
And the sooner those of us who qualify as “deplorables” understand that, the sooner we comprehend that there is NO compromise possible with those progressivists and Leftists, the sooner we understand that the self-appointed leaders of the Establishment “Conservative Movement” are not our defenders but 5th Column collaborationists, then the sooner we come to the sobering realization that WE hold our destiny and the future in OUR hands.

“Ecrasez L’infame!” –“Crush the loathsome beast!” said Voltaire about Church-State authority in pre-Revolutionary France. And, while I am, as a staunch traditionalist, definitely 100% on the other side of that historical issue, the phrase fits here: either we somehow crush the other side, or they will most assuredly crush us. It’s no longer a “cold war”—the “total war” is joined.

August 17, 2019 MY CORNER by Boyd Cathey NEW Essay at The UNZ Review: The Shooting and the Open War against the Deplorables ...