Monday, January 18, 2021

                                                January 18, 2021

 

MY CORNER by Boyd Cathey

 

Martin Luther King Day and Its Meaning

Friends,

[For the past several years I have been publishing—and then republishing—an essay on Martin Luther King on this day which I originally put out five years ago. Each time I slightly edit it (but not much), but almost always it remains essentially what I wrote back in 2016. Like the disastrous Civil Rights and Voting Rights bills of the 1960s, the establishment of the King Holiday is a watershed event in American history, symbolic of what had happened to this country and a predictor of what was to happen… and is occurring now. And so, once again, I offer this longish essay for consideration. The history that is recounted has not changed, but perhaps we can see now, understand better where it has led us. –BDC]

 

For the past thirty-five years (officially since 1986) the third Monday in January has been celebrated as a federal holiday, Martin Luther King Day. Federal and state offices and many businesses either close or go on limited schedules. We are awash with public observances, parades, prayer breakfasts, stepped-up school projects for our unwary and intellectually-abused children, and gobs and gobs of over-the-top television “specials” and movies, all geared to tell us—to shout it in our faces, if we don’t pay strict attention—that King was some sort of superhuman, semi-divine civil rights leader who brought the promise of equality to millions of Americans, a kind of modern St. John the Baptist ushering in the Millennium. And that he stands just below Jesus Christ in the pantheon of revered and adored historical personages…and in some ways, perhaps above Jesus Christ in the minds of many of his present-day devotees and epigones.

 

It seems to do no good to issue a demurrer to this veritable religious “cult of Dr. King.” There are, indeed, numerous “Christian” churches that now “celebrate” this day just as if it were a major feast in the Christian calendar. In short, Martin Luther King has received de facto canonization religiously and in the public mind as no other person in American history.

Mention the fact that King may have plagiarized as much as 40 % of his Boston University Ph.D. dissertation [cf. Theodore Pappas, Plagiarism and the Culture War: The Writings of Martin Luther King, Jr, and Other Prominent Americans, 1998 and Martin Luther King Jr Plagiarism Story, 1994], or that he worked closely with known Communists throughout his life, or that he advocated American defeat in Vietnam while praising Ho Chi Minh, or that he implicitly countenanced violence and Marxism, especially later in his life [cf., Congressional Record, 129, no. 130 (October 3, 1983): S13452-S13461]—mention any of these accusations confirmed begrudgingly by his establishment biographers David Garrow and Taylor Branch, or mention his even-by-current-standards violent “rough sex” escapades (which apparently involved even under-agers) [cf., Cooper Sterling, January 13, 2018, at: http://www.vdare.com/articles/fake-news-washington-post-evades-martin-luther-kings-communist-links?content=for%20Church%20Ministers.%E2%80%9D ]—and you immediately get labeled a “racist” and condemned by not just the zealous King flame-keepers on the Left, but by such “racially acceptable” Neoconservatives like James Kirchick and Dinesh D’Souza who supposedly are on the Right.

Indeed, in some ways Establishment “conservatives” such as Jonah Goldberg, Rich Lowry (National Review), D’Souza, Glenn Beck, the talking heads on Fox…and many others, not only eagerly buy into this narrative, they now have converted King into a full-fledged, card-carrying member of “Conservatism Inc.”—the (contemporary) “conservative movement,” a “plaster saint” iconized as literally no one else in our history.

 

Celebrating King becomes a means for these ersatz conservatives to demonstrate their “civil rights” and “egalitarian” bona fides. The Neocons, with their philosophical and ideological origins over on the Trotskyite Left of the 1930s and 1940s, when they made their pilgrimage towards conservatism in the 1960s and 1970s brought with them a fervent believe in a globalist New World Order egalitarianism that characterized Trotskyite Marxist ideology, and the determination to redefine and re-orient the traditional American Rightwing, and to re-write, as well, American history.


Thus, the purges of the old conservative movement in the 1980s and 1990s—there was no room for Southern conservatives like Mel Bradford, no room for traditionalist Catholics like Frederick Wilhelmsen or Brent Bozell Sr., no room for paleo-libertarians like Murray Rothbard, no room for Old Right anti-egalitarians like Paul Gottfried, and no room for “America Firsters” like Pat Buchanan…And those traditional conservatives who were too significant in the “pantheon of greats,” like a Russell Kirk, they attempted to simply whitewash and give them new, cleaned up images and identities (part and parcel of their “rewriting” of conservatism). Thus, Kirk’s opposition to the civil rights bills of the 1960s and 1970s, his staunch arguments against egalitarianism, his willingness to debate cognitive disparities between the races (publishing, for example, reviews of Dr. Audrey M. Shuey’s study, The Testing of Negro Intelligence, in his publication, The University Bookman—I know, as I was there in Mecosta when it happened) are all swept under the carpet or carefully ignored.


In this, in fact, the dominant Neocons have joined with their cousins on the “farther Left,” to the point that Bush consultant guru and Fox pundit, Karl Rove, could boast that hardcore Marxist/Communist historian Eric Foner (who lamented the collapse of Soviet Communism) was his favorite historian (when examining Reconstruction) [See Dr. Paul Gottfried’s incisive critique of Foner and those “conservatives” who have praised him, “Guilt Trip,” The American Conservative,” May 4, 2009, pp. 21-23].


King Day has become, then, for the Conservative Movement an opportunity for it to beat its chest, brag about its commitment to civil rights and the American “dream”, the unrealized idea of equality (that is, to distort and re-write the history of the American Founding), and to protect its left flank against the ever increasing charges that it could be, just might be, maybe is—“racist.”


And for the “farther Left,” that catapulting cultural Marxist juggernaut that continues to move the societal and political goalposts to the Left, King Day becomes as a major ideological blitzkrieg, a weaponized cudgel used to strike down and silence anyone, anywhere, who might offer the slightest dissent to the latest barbarity and latest “advance” in civil rights, now expanded to include not just everything “racial,” but also same sex marriage, transgenderism and abortion on demand. Martin Luther King–that deeply and irredeemably flawed and fraudulent figure imposed upon us and our consciousness—has become an icon, a totem, who serves in martyred death the purposes of continuing Revolution.


The heavily-documented literature detailing the real Martin Luther King is abundant and remains uncontroverted and basically uncontested. During the debates over establishing a national “King Day” in the mid-1980s, Senators Jesse Helms and John East (both North Carolinians) led the opposition, supplying the Congress and the nation, and anyone with eyes to read, full accounts of the “King legacy,” from his close association and collaboration with the Communist Party USA to his advocacy of violence and support for the Communists in North Vietnam, to implicit support for Marxist revolution domestically. Ironically, it was Robert Woodson, a noted black Republican, who highlighted in a lecture given to honor the “conservative virtues of Dr. Martin Luther King” at the Heritage Foundation on November 5, 1993, the difficulties in getting black advocates of the older generation to respect King’s role as a Civil Rights leader. According to Woodson, as quoted in an excellent essay by Paul Gottfried,

“when Dr. King tried to bring the Civil Rights movement together with the [Marxist] peace movement, it was Carl Rowan who characterized King as a Communist, not Ronald Reagan. I remember being on the dais of the NAACP banquet in Darby, Pennsylvania when Roy Wilkins soundly castigated King for this position.” [Paul Gottfried, “The Cult of St. Martin Luther King – A Loyalty Test for Careerist Conservatives?” January 16, 2012, at: http://www.vdare.com/articles/the-cult-of-st-martin-luther-king-a-loyalty-test-for-careerist-conservatives ]


But not only that, behind the scenes there were voluminous secretly-made FBI recordings and accounts of King’s violent sexual escapades, often times with more than two or three others involved in such “rough sex” trysts; and of his near total hypocrisy when discussing civil rights and other prominent civil rights leaders. It is, to put it mildly, a sorry record, scandalous even by today’s standards…Indeed, King makes Harvey Weinstein look like a meek choirboy in comparison.


But you won’t hear any of that mentioned by the falling-all-over-itself Mainstream Media or the media mavens on Fox. In fact, such comments will get you exiled to the far reaches of the Gobi Desert and labeled a “racist,” quicker that my cocker spaniel gobbles down his kibble.


Rather than rehash and restate all the various accusations, backed up with substantial and overwhelming documentation, let me offer something of an annotated bibliography and history of MLK Day. Almost all the material is now available and accessible online, including material from the Congressional Record.


First, essential to understanding the background of just how we got King Day, the late Dr. Samuel Francis’s account is critical. Originally written to preface the publication of voluminous testimony and documentation placed in the Congressional Record by Senator Helms, Francis’s essay and the Helms’ dossier were eventually published in book form (I have a published copy, but I’m unsure if you can still find it on Amazon). A few years back Dr. Francis’s introduction and his detailed background essay and the lengthy Congressional Record material (which he prepared for Helms) were put online. For a complete understanding of King’s association and cooperation with American Communists and his endorsement of Vietnamese Communism, as well as his putative endorsement of Marxism here in the United States while condemning the free enterprise system, these two items are essential reading:


Dr. Samuel Francis, “The King Holiday and Its Meaning,” February 26, 2015, at: http://www.vdare.com/articles/the-king-holiday-and-its-meaning-0


Dr. Samuel Francis, “Remarks of Senator Jesse Helms. Congressional Quarterly,” February 26, 2005, at: http://www.vdare.com/articles/helms-jesse-remarks-of-senator-jesse-helms-congressional-quarterly-0

 

To fully understand the serious plagiarism charges leveled against King and the academic and politically-correct skullduggery that surrounded Boston University’s decision not to rescind his doctoral degree, Theodore Pappas’s two detailed studies, cited above, offer fascinating and scandalously revealing details. But other writers, also, upon cursory examination, have found numerous other instances of his plagiarism.


Remember the “I Have a Dream” speech? Well, as Jim Goad wrote in Takimag back in 2012:


“…the immortalized in MLK’s “I Have a Dream” speech in the part where he beseeches God…to “Let freedom ring from the Stone Mountain of Georgia.” King stole that passage about Stone Mountain from a 1952 oratory delivered by another black preacher at the Republican National Convention. He also allegedly plagiarized parts of the first public sermon he ever delivered back in 1947.” [Jim Goad, “I’m So Bored with MLK,” Takimag, January 16, 2012, at: http://takimag.com/article/im_so_bored_with_mlk#axzz54AHOhapO]


But, say the Neocon scribblers at National Review and the pundits on Fox, wasn’t King really a conservative at heart, an old-fashioned black Baptist who believed in the tenets of traditional Christianity? Shouldn’t we simply overlook these all-too-human foibles?


To answer that Dr. Jack Kerwick penned an essay several years ago that addresses these futile attempts to sanitize and “conservatize” King on the part of “conservatism inc.,” in its efforts to shore up its leftward flank and, through sanctifying him, to defend the template of egalitarianism as central to the American Founding.


I take the liberty of quoting Kerwick at length:


“In honor of African-American History month, let’s take a quiz. In each of the following statements, a famous African-American is quoted. Identify that person among these answer choices: (a) Jesse Jackson; (b) Jeremiah Wright; (c) Al Sharpton; (d) Louis Farrakhan; (e)Barack Hussein Obama; and (f) Martin Luther King, Jr.

(1)George Washington was undoubtedly valorous. “But to the end of his days he maintained a posture of exclusionism toward the slave,” and he “was a fourth-generation slaveholder.” Washington “only allowed” blacks “to enter the Continental Army because His Majesty’s Crown was attempting to recruit” blacks “to the British Cause.”

(2)The black American is “the child of two cultures—Africa and America. The problem is that in the search for wholeness all too many” blacks “seek to embrace only one side of their natures.” Blacks in America are “Afro-American [.]”

(3) “Colonialism could not have been perpetuated if the Christian Church had really taken a stand against it.” For example, “the vicious system of apartheid in South Africa” had among “its chief defenders…the Dutch Reformed Protestant Church.”

(4) “If the Church does not participate actively in the struggle for peace and for economic and racial justice” future generations will look back upon it as “one of the greatest bulwarks of white supremacy.”

(5) President Lyndon Baines Johnson had a “comprehensive grasp” of the problems of poverty and civil rights that he faced. He had “sincerity,” “realism,” and “wisdom” in how he approached them.

(6) Blacks, like everyone else, have “a right to expect the resources of the American trade union movement to be used in assuring” them “of a proper place in American society.” Young blacks especially “need to think of union careers as earnestly as they do of business careers and professions.”

(7) America maintains “a continued alliance…with racism and exploitation throughout the world.”

(8) Both Marxism and “traditional capitalism” are partially true and partially false. The former may fail to “see the truth in individual enterprise,” but the latter fails to “see the truth in collective enterprise.”

(9) Communism was “a judgment on” the “failure” of “Western nations…to make democracy real and to follow through on the revolutions that we initiated.”

(10) The “potential explosiveness of our world situation is much more attributable [than anything else] to disillusionment with promises of Christianity and technology.”

(11) America “is still behind European nations in all forms of social legislation.”

(12) “Our children are still taught to respect the violence which reduced a red-skinned people [the American Indian] of an earlier culture into a few fragmented groups herded into impoverished reservations.”

(13) “The misery of the poor in Africa and Asia” is the “result of years of [Western] exploitation and underdevelopment.”

(14) “We in the West must bear in mind that the poor countries are poor primarily because we have exploited them through political or economic colonialism. Americans in particular must help their nation repent of her modern economic imperialism.”

(15) If there is to be “peace on earth,” people’s “loyalties must transcend” not only “race,” “tribe,” and “class,” but “nation.” This “means [that] we must develop a world perspective.”

(16) “There is nothing new about poverty. What is new, however, is that we now have the resources to get rid of it.” What this implies is that the time is now “for an all-out world war against poverty. The rich nations must use their vast resources of wealth to develop the underdeveloped, school the unschooled, and feed the unfed.”

(17) The United Nations is to be applauded, for it is the product of “the fear of war.”

(18) Since “the destructive power of modern weapons eliminates even the possibility that war may serve as a negative good,” those “who sincerely feel that disarmament is an evil and international negotiation is an abominable waste of time” are sorely mistaken.

(19) “A nation that continues year after year to spend more money on military defense than on programs of social uplift is approaching spiritual death.”

(20) America “must not only radically readjust its attitude toward” blacks; it “must incorporate in its planning some compensatory compensation [“Affirmative Action”] from the handicaps [blacks] inherited from the past.”

(21) What’s necessary for combating poverty is “a broad-based and gigantic Bill of Rights for the Disadvantaged, our veterans of the long siege of denial.”

(22) Because America was “born in genocide,” “racial hatred,” and “racial supremacy,” nothing less than “a reconstruction of the entire society, a revolution of values” is demanded. After all, “a nation that put as many Japanese in a concentration camp as” America did during World War II will think nothing of putting “black people in a concentration camp” as well.

(23) America needs a “revolution of values”—i.e. “socialism.”

(24) The Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 were “at best surface changes.” Only a “redistribution of economic power” could rectify the injustices inherent in “the system” of “capitalism.”

(25) The Vietnam War was “senseless,” “unjust,” and “racist [.]” In truth, it is America that is “the greatest purveyor of violence in the world today [.]”

*Bonus Question: Which of the foregoing famous African-Americans said this about Ronald Reagan?

“That a one-time “Hollywood performer” who lacked “distinction even as an actor” could “become a leading war hawk candidate for the presidency” had to have been due to a most “melancholy turn of events [.]” In fact, “only the irrationalities induced by a war psychosis” could explain it.

If you selected “(f),” Martin Luther King, Jr., as your answer to ALL these questions, then you achieved a perfect score! That’s right: Though some word tenses were changed so as not to date the quotation in question and give away the answer, the hard truth of the matter is that, contrary to what contemporary “conservative” commentators [in the GOP and on Fox News] would have you believe, King was obviously about as much of a conservative, to say nothing of a “Reagan conservative,” as any of the other famous black Americans mentioned at the beginning of this article. His statements, in fact, reveal a man of the hard left, and certainly to the left of Barack Obama. “The truth,” as Friedrich Nietzsche so simply, yet powerfully, put it, “is hard.

[Dr. Jack Kerwick, February 2015, http://www.beliefnet.com/columnists/attheintersectionoffaithandculture/2015/02/a-pop-quiz-for-african-american-history-month.html]


Finally, I should also mention Peter Brimelow’s superb essay that offers additional insight on the King Day holiday and which summarizes much of the information, ideological uses, and controversy surrounding the day. It was originally published in 2015, but he has republished it each year to coincide with this annual national paroxysm: “ ‘Time To Rethink Martin Luther King Day’–The 2017 Edition,” at: http://www.vdare.com/articles/time-to-rethink-martin-luther-king-day-the-2017-edition]


I can think of no better summation of the real meaning of King Day and its bare-knuckled ideological use to deconstruct, dissolve and obliterate American traditions and heritage than to cite, again, Sam Francis:


“[T]he true meaning of the holiday is that it serves to legitimize the radical social and political agenda that King himself favored and to delegitimize traditional American social and cultural institutions—not simply those that supported racial segregation but also those that support a free market economy, an anti-communist foreign policy, and a constitutional system that restrains the power of the state rather than one that centralizes and expands power for the reconstruction of society and the redistribution of wealth. In this sense, the campaign to enact the legal public holiday in honor of Martin Luther King was a small first step on the long march to revolution, a charter by which that revolution is justified as the true and ultimate meaning of the American identity. In this sense, and also in King’s own sense, as he defined it in his speech at the Lincoln Memorial in 1963, the Declaration of Independence becomes a “promissory note” by which the state is authorized to pursue social and economic egalitarianism as its mission, and all institutions and values that fail to reflect the dominance of equality—racial, cultural, national, economic, political, and social—must be overcome and discarded.

“By placing King—and therefore his own radical ideology of social transformation and reconstruction—into the central pantheon of American history, the King holiday provides a green light by which the revolutionary process of transformation and reconstruction can charge full speed ahead. Moreover, by placing King at the center of the American national pantheon, the holiday also serves to undermine any argument against the revolutionary political agenda that it has come to symbolize. Having promoted or accepted the symbol of the new dogma as a defining—perhaps the defining—icon of the American political order, those who oppose the revolutionary agenda the symbol represents have little ground to resist that agenda.” [January 16, 2006, at: https://majorityrights.com/weblog/comments/samuel_francis_on_martin_luther_king_jr_day]


I will not be celebrating this day; rather, it is for me a mournful reminder of what has happened and is happening to this country.

Wednesday, January 13, 2021

                                                    January 13, 2021

 

MY CORNER by Boyd Cathey


Welcome to the Gulag of 2021

The Aftermath of the January 6 Stop the Steal Rally

 Friends,

There has been abundant and over-the-top discussion about the events of this past week and the so-called “insurrection” of Trump supporters—the Deplorables—at the United States Capitol on January 6. Since that day the major news media—the media establishment, including notoriously  Fox News—have kept up a constant and ranting drumbeat, with dire images of “sedition” and “treason,” and the absolute and (for them) undebatable demand to “suppress” and “cancel” anyone who disagrees with their views. Not just of Deplorables with a higher public profile, but ANY person who might in the slightest way demur or dissent from their template.

The persecution now reaches down to regular folk who have been denounced because they are Trump supporters.

Already there is news that literally hundreds of men and women have been terminated, fired from their jobs if their employers find out about their dissident views...not just attending a pro-Trump event.

Just the other day North Carolina’s Attorney General (and suitably “woke” Leftie) Josh Stein publicly demanded that Tar Heel citizens denounce their neighbors if those folks might have attended the January 6 “Stop the Steal” rally. And your children? They should denounce their parents, says Stein. Remind you of the old Soviet Union? This may be worse: the advent of a new, more severe “totalitarian democracy.” Josh Stein is, ironically, North Carolina’s chief legal enforcer….

Already there is an FBI investigation occurring of a Fort Bragg [it still bears that name but not for much longer!] officer who as a private person helped a group of regular Moore County NC people to attend the January 6 rally. None of them invaded the Capitol—none of them. But that doesn’t matter: hold them up for media scorn, blacken their reputations, maybe even inveigle them in bogus legal charges; in other words, silence them and stomp them down so that they never again question Big Brother.

The airline stewards union demands that any Trump supporter be barred from flying, and they may well get their wish. So if you were one of the several hundred thousand folks who went to Washington last week, even as a peaceful and respectful participant, if some “woke” person knows that and squeals, Bam! You’re apt to be kicked off a flight or not permitted to board.

The coordinated and nearly universal cabal of Big Tech now asserts not only a total ban of hundreds of conservative groups AND individuals, but collaborates with the incoming Biden team, just as they collaborated with the Democratic National Committee to help steal the November election. Their minions will populate the incoming administration, and soon you will not be able to tell the difference. As in Orwell’s Animal Farm, the dominant pigs will become indistinguishable from the humans…and Big Tech and Big Government will effectively merge and control our lives.

Dozens of major banks and corporations now ritualistic “cancel” anyone who raises even the slightest question about what happened last November. Howls for blood go out for Senator Josh Hawley who stoutly defended the president and made a reasonable case that widespread election fraud existed last year. He must be expelled from the US Senate; his home and family have been threatened by real violent demonstrators. No problem about that, say the media.

You see, no one with a public profile can now openly state that there are “questions” about November 3. It is verboten to even meekly raise the issue. And if you do, then your wife and children may be terrorized with impunity by those “mostly peaceful” Antifa types.

Television personality, Black Live Matter enthusiast, and intellectual nullity, Joy Reid, dredges up the tried-and-true canard: the Trump rally was actually a manifestation of “white privilege” and historic “white supremacy.” Millions of Democrats AND Republicans agree. We simply must be stamped out…now!

National Washington Post columnist and media pundit Eugene Robinson—with much acclaim from the agents of Big Brother—declares that “Trump supporters are a cult and need to be forcibly ‘deprogrammed’.” Sent to re-education camps? Aren’t our children in public schools already there? So now our enemies, in the name of “defending our democracy” suggest we be sent to the Gulag? Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn’s experiences will be like a vacation compared to what may await us.

Joe Biden rails against Trump and all his supporters, blasting them as “followers of Nazi Joseph Goebbels [he can’t even correctly pronounce the name] and the Big Lie.” And this is the man who is supposed “to unite” America? His dementia surfaces nearly every time he opens his mouth. Can President Kamala Harris, waiting in the wings, be far away?

Welcome to the inevitable result of “our democracy”: the Globo-Socialist Republic of America. We were warned and we did not heed those warnings. Those wise men, like Southerner Robert Lewis Dabney, were as Cassandra at Troy: “predestined to prophesy truth and never to be believed until too late.”

*****

Over the past few days several writers—the few who remain free and uncontrolled—have valiantly defended the president. But more than that they have defended the half of the American nation who are the real “normals,” the folks who actually live in reality, the real world, who live or try to live in accord with Natural Law and the Divine Positive Law, and the inherited traditions of Western Christian civilization.

The voices of these authors—“signs of contradiction”—need to be heard, shouted from the rooftops. But in today’s frenetic, insane climate, their reasoned responses will be probably be lost among the hysterical madness that now reigns.

I offer access links to four of these which each merit consideration:

“The Storming of the Capitol”: America’s Reichstag Fire?  by Kit Knightly

Democrats Launch Their Assault on Red State America  by Paul Craig Roberts

And lastly, an excellent and questioning summary of where we are, Lew Rockwell’s

The Truth About January 6---and Where We Should Go From Here

Monday, January 11, 2021

                        January 11, 2021

 

MY CORNER by Boyd Cathey

 

Our Future as Americans…and As Southerners

Friends,

I have substantially edited and rewritten parts of the MY CORNER installment of this past Saturday, January 9, 2021. And it has been picked up by LewRockwell.com. Today, January 11, it appears on that Web site. So, since it is somewhat different than what I offered earlier, I put it out once again, as edited. Along with the penultimate installment in this series, “What 2020 Means for Southerners” (originally put out via MY CORNER on January 1, and republished by The Abbeville Institute, January 4, 2021), these two statements encompass my views, if only briefly, on where we are in these dark days, both as Southerners and as Americans.

Given the swirling, fetid muck of democratic totalitarianism, the hysterical and increasing, by the moment, censorship and dominance of “cancel culture”…plus the fact that I have already been doxxed at least once and that my telephone continues to ring with hate calls, I wonder how long voices such as mine will continue?

Shrill imprecations are directed at us and evil faces surround us; and our future may hold a far worse time of testing, of persecution, and of martyrdom. From time to time I have to remind myself that God is still in His Heaven. Yes, I believe…as I am sure you do…that our cause is just and right, and to quote President Jefferson Davis, that “Truth crushed to earth is still truth and like a seed will rise again.”

So, we have no alternative if we do not wish to disappear from history: we must keep the Faith and continue. And to God be the glory!

LewRockwell.com anti-stateanti-warpro-market

The Future of the American Republic…How Do We Survive?

 

https://www.lewrockwell.com/2021/01/no_author/the-future-of-the-american-republichow-do-we-survive/

 

By Boyd D. Cathey   My Corner  January 11, 2021

 

The old American republic—the republic begun with such hopefulness and lofty aspirations in 1787, with promises of justice and liberty—that republic is entering its death throes. Its promises not only have been rejected by those who govern it, but are openly reviled by those same leaders and elites.

 

Hospice for the nation has arrived—the country we once knew and loved, where we raised our families and went to church, where we worked, and from where our fathers and brothers went off to defend our way of life—that country has begun its final, fitful death spiral…“not with a bang, but a whimper” (as poet T. S. Eliot wrote in “The Hollow Men”). And surrounding the death bed gaze the fearsome eyes of those greedy, soulless, totalitarians risen up from the very feculent bowels of Hell who have now regained the momentum they temporarily lost back in 2016, when a somewhat na├»ve, but vigorous and brash billionaire threw a monkey-wrench in their path to final success.

 

And the chances to revive the patient? They are tragically slim to none…as many of us now realize.

 

Like wolves circling round their prey, those forces are constant and unrelenting in their intentions, undeterred by the fact that half of this country now has begun—but only just begun—to awaken from the induced stupor, the induced coma under the cover of which the ugly forces of democratic totalitarianism have for the past 50 or 100 years inexorably advanced. All the more reason, they calculate, to impose draconian restrictions, use the immense power of Big Tech and Big Government to staunch and suppress dissent.

 

Not just “cancel” Donald Trump, but all the “deplorables” of any high public profile, anyone who might raise a voice to actually oppose their ploys. Their inflexible censorship and ability to “de-person” almost anyone, and their control of education and the media are imposing an Iron Curtain over what is left of America, more fearful and more sweeping than anything Joe Stalin ever dreamed of.

Indeed, one can rightly argue that those demonic forces—let us call them what they are: “the forces of anti-Western Christian civilization”—have had an upper hand since the defeat of the defenders of America’s old Constitution in 1865. But their steps in this process—their spreading infection—have taken more than a full century to effect success. Now, before our very eyes their victory appears imminent.

Among those supposed defenders of the old republican system in Congress and in establishment “conservative media,” we see a curious, but not-so-shocking “jumping off the ship.” For four years these “conservatives” and Republicans kept up the pretense of defending Donald Trump or at least some of his policies, while all the while they were trying their damnedest, sotto voce, to weaken him, betray him, and finally expel him. In so doing they were not only serving the Deep State elites, but, more importantly, attempting to suppress what they hated most: those awakened citizens, those Deplorables who now understood, if only vaguely, what was happening in this country and that they could resist it.

 

Republicans like Senators Ben Sasse, Lisa Murkowski, Mitt (“the Twit”) Romney, Richard Burr, and Representative Adam Kinzinger have at last revealed the uncontestable fact that they have always been “on the other side”—they have always been globalists, bought off and paid by the managers of the Deep State—they have always been “fifth columnists” who deserve only our disdain and contempt. As such they join “conservative movement” grotesqueries like Rich Lowry (editor of National Review), columnists Jonah Goldberg, Steve Hayes, and Bill Kristol, and others who claim the label “Republican” and “conservative,” but whose allegiance has always been to the corporate-globo-state which now, in just a few days, will control our national destiny.

 

In several previous columns I have speculated on what options are now left to us, and what the massive election fraud of November 3, 2020 means. The unleashed and legitimate frustrations evidenced by the “Stop the Steal” rally of January 6 propel those questions once more to the fore.

Those options are limited:

Either we shall succumb miserably to a new, enforced slavery far worse than any type of slavery in human history, as it will eat at and dismember our souls and pollute and control the minds of our descendants.

Or, there will be internecine and eventually violent combat, perhaps a form of guerrilla warfare, bloody and ruthless.  But with the upper echelons of the American armed forces now thoroughly perverted by the same Deep State globalist contagion, such conflict will only result in further and more severe depredations…and the Gulag for many, perhaps millions of us.

Or, perhaps the least violent potentially (but also the most difficult to pull off), a separation of American states, including probably a separation within states of regions dominated by the crazed democratic totalitarians from those zones where traditional sanity still obtains. This course appeals the most to me.  But, assuredly, the authoritarian globalist Deep State and corporate America would not go along with it, and very likely such moves could equally provoke violence and civil war. I can easily envisage a President Kamala Harris sending troops to put down secession by Texas or by Alabama. At that point, all Hell breaks loose.

 

And there is what I call “the catacomb strategy,” which, like its sounds, means that we find ourselves in an underground existence like none other in history, for the powers that rule would have eyes and ears everywhere and would essentially control education, politics, and most communication media. The suppression and oppression would be far more intense and profound than anything ever experienced previously, and our object would be to survive and simply pass on the beliefs, the learning, and the memory of the past and of who we were and are and may one day be again. New forms of communication and transmission of our heritage would need to be devised, impervious to the omniscient eyes of our entrenched masters. On those new forms our survival would depend.

 

George Orwell’s dystopian novel, Nineteen-Eighty-Four (1949), calls up images of what such an existence might look like, with its “book people,” each one committed to preserving the memory and wisdom of at least one classic tome, in opposition to Big Brother…and now to Big Tech…and passing that knowledge on.

 

That was seventy years ago…what would it look like today?

This option is fraught with peril, a course that would demand stouthearted men and women, a course which would demand martyrs of faith and of hope. And such a course could well last generations.

Yet, we may be forced into it, and we must be ready for it. Will we ever see another relatively “free” election at least at the national level? Probably not, under the present globalist dispensation.

We must be prepared to seriously consider and contemplate how we proceed, what our strategies will be. All of these options carry immense danger and cruel hardships.

Like Gideon’s small army we must recommit ourselves to our fathers and what they left us, to our historic civilization, and to the God of All Ages, and to the invincible Hope He inspires in us.

Reprinted with the author’s permission.

Copyright © Boyd D. Cathey

                                                 January 18, 2021   MY CORNER by Boyd Cathey   Martin Luther King Day and Its Meanin...